The 16 Regions of Ghana and their Capitals [2021 Updated]

Six new regions have been created out of the Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern and Western regions.

The Oti Region was carved out of the Volta Region, with Dambai as the capital.

Bono East and Ahafo were created out of the Brong Ahafo Region with Techiman and Goaso as the respective capitals, while the former Brong Ahafo Region now becomes the Bono Region with Sunyani as the capital.

North East Region and Savannah Region were carved out of the Northern Region with Nalerigu and Damango as the new capitals respectively. Western North with Sefwi Wiawso as its capital was also created out of the Western Region.

See below the current map of Ghana clearly showing all the regions.

Here are the 16 Regions of Ghana and their Regional Capitals:

Ahafo RegionGoaso
Ashanti RegionKumasi
Bono East RegionTechiman
Bono RegionSunyani
Central RegionCape Coast
Eastern RegionKoforidua
Greater Accra RegionAccra
North East RegionNalerigu
Northern RegionTamale
Oti RegionDambai
Savannah RegionDamango
Upper East RegionBolgatanga
Upper West RegionWa
Volta RegionHo
Western North RegionSefwi Wiawso
Western RegionSekondi-Takoradi

Thank you for reading on Share this article with your family and friends.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more updates.

Email: [email protected]

Leave a comment

Get Breaking News First

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.